NZ Pinot Noir classification announced

Ata Rangi, Felton Road and Mt Difficulty are the only wineries to have been given Five Stars in the Third Great New Zealand Pinot Noir Classification.

fr-nv-cornish-pinot-noir-ib.jpgThe classification, which is based on a rolling average rating of the five most recent vintages, was revealed following the biennial Pinot Noir Conference, held in Wellington.

The creation of a New Zealand wine classification has recently become a hot topic following the request for yet more recognised Geographical Indications to be created within the country.

However, British wine writer Matthew Jukes and Australian wine writer Tyson Stelzer have been producing the Pinot Noir Classification for five years and publishing it for three.

Jukes said: “It quite simply showcases the excellence of the category and it is the first of its kind on the planet.”

Speaking of the usefulness in having such a hierarchy, Jukes added that the list was created: “To help the trade and consumers decide which are the finest producers of New Zealand Pinot – bearing in mind that only 10 years ago there were only a handful of players and now there are 130-ish, of which around half make it onto this list.”

The full list can be downloaded from

Jane Parkinson, The Drinks Business

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture. Click on the picture to hear an audio file of the word.
Anti-spam image